Spring Ahead, Fall Back–What Crap

My morning–actually I should start with last night.

It was about 10:45 (with the time change) when I decided to get my booty to bed. I wasn’t tired at all, but I wake up 5:30 to hit the gym every other morning so I wanted to be rested. It wasn’t until about 3:30 in the morning that I finally fell asleep. I tossed and turned for a good four hours. Seems unjust.

When my alarm went off this morning, it felt like the middle of the night. I wonder why? Probably because it was the middle of the night. I debated if I should just sleep until 8 (I’m lucky and don’t teach my first class until 10). I was in bed trying to talk myself out of going to the gym.

Me: You have a huge break between your day and night classes, you could always go to the gym, shower then head back to campus.

Me: No, you shouldn’t. You’ll be rushed and not have a good workout.

Me: You’ll be better rested if you sleep a couple more hours.

Me: Get. Your. Fat. Ass. Out. Of. Bed.

And so I hit the gym.

For whatever reason, I was almost fifteen minutes late for my 10 am class. I still can’t figure out how. I was rushing like a mad woman to make my lunch, and throw some clothes in the dryer. I had the same amount of time that I always do.

 I swear I am perpetually in a different time zone from the rest of society.

It seems like Springtime is the time of year when you’re supposed to get your things in order. Why then does that Monday after daylight savings feel like the worst start to getting your life/year in order?

These are the answers I will seek from my maker.

Leave a Reply

