Wedding Talk–No worries, I’ll Make it Quick

I don’t want to turn this into a wedding planning blog, because lord knows there are plenty out there, but I must get somethings off my chest.

As you know, The Boyfriend/Future Husband proposed over Thanksgiving break while we were on vacation. Well, as I’ve mentioned before I come from a huge Italian family. In fact, before we posted it on facebook, I called my mother. In less than 2 hours, my cousin (who is like my sister) had already left me message on facebook congratulating me. I was actually signing on to write her an email about it, but she already knew.

So within two hours, the news was international.

Inter-freakin’-national.

Well, we’ve met with the priest and are working on setting a date.

I’ll be home for Christmas and am hoping to have the venue and church squared away. Of course this would mean things need to go as planned. I have to say, I’m so grateful Future Husband asked me when he did, because he’s allowed for me to have a little over a year to plan the wedding.

While I’m sure there will be plenty of stories that will come from the wedding planning, right now setting the date and convincing my mother that having the wedding where Future Husband and I want  is turning into such a nightmare.

My whole family lives outside of the country. Future Husband’s family lives in America. All of the older Italian generation wants to go to the wedding, but travel for them is difficult. I get it, I really do, but I have my heart set on a certain place, and Future Husband likes the idea too. Frankly, it’s our day, and we want it have the party where we  want to have the party. I know it sounds selfish, but whatever.

I love my mother more than she realized, and  more than anything I want to make my parents happy. FH (Future Husband) and I met with the priest, and because of the date we want he can’t marry us. My mother asked our priest back home, and he can’t either unless we get married on the Friday, instead of the Saturday. While, getting married on the Friday would be cheaper, I am hell-bent on the Saturday. As I write this, I feel like I sound like some crazy unreasonable bride that Oxygen network would kill to film. Am I being unreasonable to want to marry on a certain date, in a certain city (that I should mention has a huge place  FH and my heart. We met there and went to college together there. So many great memories. And bonus it’s close to where my immediate family lives)?

Look, I know I’m particular, high-strung, stubborn, and anal, but is that necessarily a bad thing when it comes to planning the first big party as an official, united couple?

Am I being crazy? Bitchy? I just want it be this great party that people look back to and thinks, “Man, I sure had a blast at FH and One Mean MFA’s wedding.”

Is that so terrible?

Leave a Reply

