Ringing in the New Year

Well last year I vowed to stop cracking my knuckles and while I, of course, have not stopped, I definitely don’t crack them as often as I used to, so for that I think I deserve some kudos. I also wanted to lose some weight, while this did not happen either, I did get into way better shape and added a mile to my daily jog. This deserves a high five. In fact, 2009 was the first year of many that I actually did what I set out to do.

For 2010 I hope to cut down on the cursing. There are days when I curse like a sailor and I’m a teacher and this is a bad habit. Although I think it’s important to point out that I don’t curse in front of my students because that is not right.  I’m also educated and educated people shouldn’t curse; at least that’s what my dad has always said. My very cute boyfriend once asked me if my parents ever cursed and I thought about it, and you know what? They don’t. I’ve only heard my dad curse maybe four times in my whole life and he wasn’t cursing because he was mad, he was actually repeating something someone had said. My mom is notorious for saying things like, “oh fudgsicle sticks” and I think I too should try to be more like my parents who have enough self-control not to curse.

My second resolution is to do way more writing. I’ve already started working on this resolution. I’m not waiting for the new year to start writing. What’s the point of waiting for the new year to write? You either are going to write or your not there is no point in waiting. This movement to “Write Everyday or Else” is really helping me get focused on my career as a writer, and while I admit I haven’t been writing everyday, I have been writing way more than ever in my whole career as a student and writer, so I think it’s working.

Once I have  job I’m hoping that I’ll develop a more structured schedule not just for writing but for reading and exercise. Right now it’s all over the place. I try to wake up early and at the same time daily but knowing that there is nowhere for me to be kind of makes a 6:30 AM wake up call seem silly, but I do set my alarm for that time regardless. I’m trying.

Last year I also wrote about the stress of New Years Eve plans and this year I’ve avoided them completely. This year the boyfriend and I will go out to dinner and head for the bowling alley. It’s not complicated, it’s not too crowded and its good clean fun. We’re taking a cab so we can wasted. I’m looking forward to this New Years Eve because for once there is no pressure to have plans and be dressed up, it’s become what it should have always been about, having fun and being with the people you love.

Leave a Reply

