Happy Thanksgiving

I love the start of the holidays. It’s a reminder of how important family is and how material things like Black Friday and all the shopping are really quite insignificant.

My sister is very young. She and I are nine years apart and she’s so excited to wake up at the crack of dawn to hit up the mall. Instead, I’ve decided I’m going to help my other sister get some important things done. As much as I love shopping, and I do, my graduate student budget has taught me a lot about things that are luxuries. I no longer feel the need to go browse the mall, and I don’t buy things unless I really really need them.  Also, it’s important that I keep as little clutter around myself as possible.

I have started to do this by donating clothes I don’t wear and only keeping the essentials, which in my case is a basic wardrobe and my books. That’s it.

As I’m home, helping my mom organize the house and maintain the chaos at a manageable level, I’ve decided my Black Friday will be spent sorting through my things and deciding what gets donated to charity. There is no need to consume consume consume.

I’ve already warned my family and friends this Christmas is not going to include a lot of gift giving. I would rather cook them something delicious, and have  a great time than exchange gifts.

So, as you think about what you’re thankful for, I encourage you not to worry about setting that alarm clock to hit up a 4 am sale at Kohl’s, instead maybe stay up a bit later tonight and have a tea with your mom and chat it up, or laugh a little longer with your siblings. Forget the material stuff.

You can’t take it with you.

I hope all of you great readers out there had a wonderful Thanksgiving, I know I did.

Leave a Reply

