A Good Kick in the Ass

It’s so funny how once that deadline is right in front you and you have no choice but to get it done, you do it.

So, of course, because my deadline has arrived I’m sitting at the computer, and I’m banging out those pages, thinking “why didn’t I just shut up and do this in the first place?”  I love writing, and I’m totally invested in my project. I have to tell this story. I’ve been called on by the muses to do so.

Yesterday my very cute boyfriend pointed out to me that if I had spent the time I was spending complaining and wondering why I was wasting time on actually writing I would have been done, and focused. He also pointed out to me something I hadn’t really thought about. He said my head was in the future. I am able to see that light at the end of the tunnel and because of this I need to keep my head in May and work day by day and not worry so much about December. He said something that stuck with me, “now is the time you need to be the most focused.” How very true. If I lose focus now, December will come and go and I’ll have an unfinished project and failing grades. This will mean I’m no where closer to my goals.

While I think I knew all of this before it was pointed out to me, I think sometimes I need it pointed out to me from an outsider. Someone like him, who I know has my best interest in mind. I’m really grateful I have him in my life because he supports me and gives me a kick in the ass when I so need one.

4 comments

  1. Haha! Right! Sometimes we just need that kick in the ass! Sometimes it´s like a bad medicine, that works very well for us at the right moments! You are lucky you´ve got your “doctor”. I´ve got mine too!
    Tomorrow will come! The life is today!
    Cool post! Enjoied reading you!
    ViktoryiaN

    1. Viktoryian, first off great username. Second, thanks for the comment and stopping by. I love your positive attitude. It’s encouraging. Sometimes writers can be Negative Nancy’s, myself included.

Leave a Reply

