Stream of Consciousness, Again

I have a lot going on. As much as I like being busy sometimes I think I take on too much. Right now I’m stage directing a play that has at least two weeks left to go and I am taking an extra course so I’m taking 12 credits, teaching, stage directing…oh! and the director also put me in the show. I enjoy doing everything single thing I’m doing but holy crap it’s tough to read and write while your making sure the scene changes are going well in the dark.

I think once this play is over I’ll be ready to focus on this semester but right now I have a list of props that we still need and we open in less than a week. I’m also thinking a lot about scene changes I was being yelled at all day by the director and it feels good to be back in my house where it is quiet and I can sit and just decompress.

I feel like I really need to do my writing and reading. I have to have a novel read by tomorrow evening and another 100 pages to read for Tuesday and then practice, reading writing and so it continues. I am not complaining I promise I signed up for all this but suddenly I feel like I went through a buffet and took a little bit too much of everything.

Right now I could really use a few things:

1) A hug from my other half

2) Someone to tell me I’m going to make it. (I am going to make it because failure is NOT an option)

3) A high five.

4) And a beer.

 

Well, I should go read. So much to do, so little time.

There is a song by Rilo Kiley, it’s old but it’s wonderful and one of the lines says:

“But you’ll fight and you’ll make it through
You’ll fake it if you have to
And you’ll show up for work with a smile”

This is exactly how I feel.

3 comments

  1. First week of class, so no serious grading YET. I’m looking at lots of writing samples, though, and taking care of those details for the first week of class.

Leave a Reply

